Editorial

Which Way For The West?
10 May 2024

Which Way For The West?

IPA Review – Autumn 2024

One of the best things about being editor of the IPA Review—and there are many—is talking with the authors while they are developing their articles and asking them to pursue or elaborate on themes that are on my mind. And on yours. For example, I went to the inaugural Alliance for Responsible Citizenship (ARC) Conference in London in October/November 2023
Read
IPA Ahead of the Curve
16 January 2024

IPA Ahead of the Curve

IPA Review – Summer 2023

In November 2023 I went to London for the inaugural conference of the Alliance for Responsible Citizenship (ARC), along with a number of IPA colleagues and a raft of Australian luminaries. I daresay you have read or watched something about it by now. There’s a couple of observations I would make about it which are relevant to readers of the
Read
Equality Before The Law, Not Laws For Equal Outcomes
20 October 2023

Equality Before The Law, Not Laws For Equal Outcomes

IPA Review – Spring 2023

This magazine is being sent to print just after the massive rejection of the Voice to Parliament by Australians. This is a victory for the principle that we are Australians equal together, and that no one should have special civic and political rights over and above their fellow citizens. In the lead up to the referendum, the IPA summarised its
Read
Constructing Bigger Problems For Australian Investors
4 September 2023

Constructing Bigger Problems For Australian Investors

IPA Review – Winter 2023

In this edition of the IPA Review you will see important and original research on topics vital to Australia’s future. They are a pointer to future research activities of the IPA. On page 8 IPA Research Fellow Dr Kevin You examines our construction industry with all its issues, and discusses the effect of the changes to industrial relations being introduced
Read
When The Important Is The Urgent
24 April 2023

When The Important Is The Urgent

IPA Review – Autumn 2023

The IPA believes in the timeless values of freedom and the Australian way of life, but sometimes we have to put the focus on the very urgent and very important. Two extremely current issues are the Voice to Parliament, and the looming energy crisis in Australia driven by net zero obsessions. As you receive this, know that this month NSW
Read
Time To Learn The Lessons
20 December 2022

Time To Learn The Lessons

IPA Review – Spring 2022

Knowing more about historical events helps up make a better tomorrow, but lots of forces in our society seem determined to bury, malign, or misrepresent the past. Establishing the correct perspective from history and from values is essential to understanding and addressing very current issues such as inflation, social cohesion, democratic dysfunction, and the rising levels of anxiety and depression
Read
Our Election (Campaign) Was Stolen
30 August 2022

Our Election (Campaign) Was Stolen

IPA Review – Winter 2022

This is the first IPA Review since the recent Federal Election. The result was of course a source of joy for the ALP and a deep disappointment for the Liberal and National Parties, who lost office after three terms. The election campaign generally was a disappointment for us at the IPA, too. We were ready to play a role in
Read
Let’s Keep The Lights On
27 April 2022

Let’s Keep The Lights On

IPA Review – Autumn 2022

Australia needs so many debates right now: national security, energy security, national curriculum, climate science, the cost of housing, and national debt, to name but a few. Mainstream Australians want these debates (and action), but those in power—I don’t mean those in Government, I mean those in power—do not. On page 30 IPA Senior Fellow, Dr Sherry Sufi, explains how
Read
Remembering A Free Australia
21 January 2022

Remembering A Free Australia

IPA Review – Summer 2021

In free societies men and women can—under the rule of law—pursue their own self-interest through “truck, barter and exchange” (to use Adam Smith’s words). The stunning increase in prosperity since about 1800 is entirely due to the evolution of society in the direction of freedom and the institutions and values that support a free and commercial society; or what economist
Read
The Principles Of Freedom Are For Everyone And Everywhere
6 January 2022

The Principles Of Freedom Are For Everyone And Everywhere

IPA Review – Summer 2022

As editor I had no particular plans to make this a ‘China issue’, but from quite disparate sources I find myself with three articles addressing different aspects of that remarkable country’s history, current situation, and influence strategies. This was by happenstance rather than design, but in the final stages of production the ‘white paper’ protests have broken in many of
Read