IPA Review Articles

IPA Ahead of the Curve
16 January 2024

IPA Ahead of the Curve

In November 2023 I went to London for the inaugural conference of the Alliance for Responsible Citizenship (ARC), along with a number of IPA colleagues and a raft of Australian luminaries. I daresay you have read or watched something about it by now. There’s a couple of observations I would make about it which are relevant to readers of the
Read
Equality Before The Law, Not Laws For Equal Outcomes
20 October 2023

Equality Before The Law, Not Laws For Equal Outcomes

This magazine is being sent to print just after the massive rejection of the Voice to Parliament by Australians. This is a victory for the principle that we are Australians equal together, and that no one should have special civic and political rights over and above their fellow citizens. In the lead up to the referendum, the IPA summarised its
Read
Constructing Bigger Problems For Australian Investors
4 September 2023

Constructing Bigger Problems For Australian Investors

In this edition of the IPA Review you will see important and original research on topics vital to Australia’s future. They are a pointer to future research activities of the IPA. On page 8 IPA Research Fellow Dr Kevin You examines our construction industry with all its issues, and discusses the effect of the changes to industrial relations being introduced
Read
When The Important Is The Urgent
24 April 2023

When The Important Is The Urgent

The IPA believes in the timeless values of freedom and the Australian way of life, but sometimes we have to put the focus on the very urgent and very important. Two extremely current issues are the Voice to Parliament, and the looming energy crisis in Australia driven by net zero obsessions. As you receive this, know that this month NSW
Read
Time To Learn The Lessons
20 December 2022

Time To Learn The Lessons

Knowing more about historical events helps up make a better tomorrow, but lots of forces in our society seem determined to bury, malign, or misrepresent the past. Establishing the correct perspective from history and from values is essential to understanding and addressing very current issues such as inflation, social cohesion, democratic dysfunction, and the rising levels of anxiety and depression
Read
Our Election (Campaign) Was Stolen
30 August 2022

Our Election (Campaign) Was Stolen

This is the first IPA Review since the recent Federal Election. The result was of course a source of joy for the ALP and a deep disappointment for the Liberal and National Parties, who lost office after three terms. The election campaign generally was a disappointment for us at the IPA, too. We were ready to play a role in
Read
Let’s Keep The Lights On
27 April 2022

Let’s Keep The Lights On

Australia needs so many debates right now: national security, energy security, national curriculum, climate science, the cost of housing, and national debt, to name but a few. Mainstream Australians want these debates (and action), but those in power—I don’t mean those in Government, I mean those in power—do not. On page 30 IPA Senior Fellow, Dr Sherry Sufi, explains how
Read
Remembering A Free Australia
21 January 2022

Remembering A Free Australia

In free societies men and women can—under the rule of law—pursue their own self-interest through “truck, barter and exchange” (to use Adam Smith’s words). The stunning increase in prosperity since about 1800 is entirely due to the evolution of society in the direction of freedom and the institutions and values that support a free and commercial society; or what economist
Read
Let’s Revive Our National Spirit
8 December 2021

Let’s Revive Our National Spirit

As COVID vaccination targets are reached, there is much talk by politicians and media of freedoms being ‘returned’ to citizens. There are two problems with this type of phrase. First, freedoms belong to the people. They are not a gift from government. Second, while lockdowns, curfews and border restrictions are eased, new kinds of restrictions are being created. In Adam
Read
Australia’s Greatness Will Endure
4 August 2021

Australia’s Greatness Will Endure

Not so long ago my colleague, Dr Bella d’Abrera, wrote: Australian universities are more focused on their business model than engaging in free intellectual inquiry. Since then, two things have happened. First, Dr Peter Ridd fought back against his dismissal by James Cook University (JCU), his case reaching all the way to the High Court. Second, much of the business
Read