Book Reviews

Don’t Turn Your Back
3 June 2024

Don’t Turn Your Back

IPA Review – Autumn 2024

An impressive new study of Captain Cook helps counter the revisionists who are cooking our history books, writes IPA Office Administrator Claire Peter-Budge. Back in June last year I was invited to host the launch of Christopher Heathcote’s book The Compassion of Captain Cook. In opening the event, I decided to reflect on my own education, which while not that
Read
Missions In Malawi
3 June 2024

Missions In Malawi

IPA Review – Autumn 2024

A new book about Malawi, its people and their onetime dictator, Hastings Kamuzu Banda, is at heart a classical tragedy, writes IPA Communications Manager Michael Barrett. Much like the opera house in Manaus, Brazil, a Renaissance Revival masterpiece in the middle of the Amazon rainforest, Malawi’s Kamuzu Academy is a most improbable building. Established in 1981 to educate the African
Read
Bite Your Tongue
10 May 2024

Bite Your Tongue

IPA Review – Autumn 2024

British academic Doug Stokes’ latest book suggests the decolonisation movement makes itself look ridiculous by poking its tongue out at the West, writes IPA Research Fellow Lana Starkey. Writing in The Nation in 1997, American author and political activist Barbara Ehrenreich and then ethnology graduate student Janet McIntosh relayed social psychologist Phoebe Ellsworth’s recent experience at an interdisciplinary seminar on
Read
Woke Madness Hot Potato
25 March 2024

Woke Madness Hot Potato

IPA Review – Summer 2023

The fight against wokeness is winnable if we embrace our heresy and champion Enlightenment values, writes IPA Research Fellow Lana Starkey. Woke is the West’s most misunderstood nomenclature, topping the list of the most searched for slang words this year. While the Oxford English Dictionary added the term in 2017 and defined it as “alert to racial or social discrimination
Read
Misplaced Optimism
16 January 2024

Misplaced Optimism

IPA Review – Summer 2023

The wishful thinking of Australia’s former Chief Scientist Alan Finkel has set our nation on a course for disaster, warns electrical engineer Ben Beattie. Forests of wind farms carpeting hills and cliffs from sea to sky, endless arrays of solar panels disappearing like a mirage into the desert, mining on a massive scale, giant factories, untold miles of transmission lines,
Read
A Life Lived For Liberty
16 January 2024

A Life Lived For Liberty

IPA Review – Summer 2023

A new biography of F A Hayek provides inspiration for the ongoing fight against socialism, writes IPA Executive Director Scott Hargreaves. “The curious task of economics is to demonstrate to men how little they really know about what they imagine they can design.” – Friedrich Hayek I originally sat down to read this biography out of a sense of obligation
Read
Kids, Listen To The Science!
10 November 2023

Kids, Listen To The Science!

IPA Review – Spring 2023

Geologist Ian Plimer has dug up the simple answers kids of all ages need to understand climate shenanigans, writes reviewer Thomas D. Wilson. One of the greatest things about the modern world is our highly specialised division of labour. A baker need not study accounting to have his books checked, and an accountant need not waste resources in order to
Read
Blanche Stacking
25 October 2023

Blanche Stacking

IPA Review – Spring 2023

Blanche d’Alpuget’s role as Bob Hawke’s numbers person was a rare example of a PM’s biographer impacting on Australian politics, writes IPA Senior Fellow Richard Allsop. Chris Wallace twice came close to writing a biography of an Australian prime minister. The first was when, prior to the 1993 Federal election, she produced a biography of Opposition Leader John Hewson, on
Read
Climate? It’s Complicated
20 October 2023

Climate? It’s Complicated

IPA Review – Spring 2023

The courage to admit prevailing predictions of the Earth’s future climate are far from certainties makes Judith Curry a rare model scientist, writes IPA Visiting Fellow Stephen Wilson. Judith Curry has been on a remarkable journey. In 2005 Curry was a professor at the Georgia Institute of Technology, a climate scientist then 23 years on from earning her PhD in
Read
The USA’s Promised Land
17 October 2023

The USA’s Promised Land

IPA Review – Winter 2023

A remarkable new book explains how the USA became the Promised Land for its Jewish citizens, writes former intelligence analyst Paul Monk. American academic and author Walter Russell Mead has devoted his career to the close study of the Anglo-American world order, rather as American political scientist Aaron Friedberg has done. The scholarship Mead has produced makes him an authoritative
Read